Workers’ Compensation Laws in Illinois
Like most states, Illinois requires employers to fund workers’ compensation insurance for almost every localized employee who becomes ill or injured. While certain types of employers can request an exemption, around 91% of employees in Illinois receive coverage. The types of employers that can seek exemption include:
- Members of limited liability companies
- Corporate officers
- Business partners
- Sole proprietors
Any employer who is found to have willfully refused to obtain insurance can be liable for a fine of up to $500 for every day of noncompliance or a minimum fine of $10,000. To date, Illinois has received $7 million in these types of fines.
Reasons a Claim may be Denied
Ideally, your workers’ compensation claim goes through without a hitch. However, there are some valid reasons why your claim may be denied. If your claim is denied, let us know. And watch out for these common causes of claim denials:
- The injury did not occur at work
- You waited too long to file a claim
- Your employer claims you were at fault for the incident
- You have a pre-existing condition
If you believe your claim has been unfairly denied, call our workers’ compensation lawyers. We can give the situation a third-party overview to determine whether legal action is necessary.
What to do if Your Employer Refuses to Pay
As you now know, your employer is usually obligated to cover any work-related injuries and illnesses. If your claim has been denied or your employer is refusing to pay, give us a call. We can help you start the process of taking your claim to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission.
Hopefully, your situation will be resolved quickly and without issue. However, if legal action is necessary, our workers’ comp lawyers can help. Either way, it’s much easier to move forward with workers’ compensation attorneys on your side.